Serena Shinault

Menlo Park, CA
looking for full-time, live-in or live-out nanny or family assistant role in a traditional, ROTA, overnight, or travel position

available beginning August 2024

serenashinault@gmail.com

650-714-1289, calls and texts welcome

My Philosophy of childcare is based on my education, teaching experience, common sense, and past observation of events.

Every family, has their own beliefs and practices. I respect that and I believe children and parents have their own personalities, which is why I strive to find the best practices that work for each individual child, and their family. Practices that are relationship-based, use respect and opportunity for teaching and learning are best in my opinion.

I believe children thrive on consistency of care and of routine. Schedules allow children to have consistency in their daily life. This enables them to feel secure and comfortable. I believe in giving some sort of notice at transition time, it is a big part of following a schedule properly. I believe parents and nannies need to have an open dialogue about house rules and expectations that way everyone can be on the same page

Education / Professional Development

Bachelor of Science in Education from Southeast Missouri State University in Cape Girardeau, MO

currently certified in Infant CPR and First Aid through the American Red Cross

Recent Professional Development
The Essentials of Household & Estate Management | Estate Management Solutions
INA Nanny Credentials, Annual | International Nanny Association
Water Safety Certificate | Collins Hope Water Guardian
Childhood Anxiety | Institute of Child Psychology
The Ins and Outs of Bullying | Institute of Child Psychology
Childhood ADHD | Institute of Child Psychology
Food Safety Certified | SafeServ

Professional Organizations
INA, International Nanny Association | Member
US Nanny Association | Member

Childcare & Family Assisting Experience Summary

  • 19 years of full-time nanny experience
  • X years of full-time family assistant experience
  • 2 years of teaching elementary school
  • experience working with newborns and over 5 years experience working with infants, toddlers, preschoolers, young, middle, and high school aged kids
  • experience working with triplets, ADD / ADHD, and dyslexia

Childcare Experience Details

  • kept daily food log for child, made homemade baby food, planned and prepared healthy meals for family
  • cleaned / sterilized all bottles and related gear
  • laundry (clothes, towels, and bedding), organized and rotated child’s clothes, shopped for child’s clothes, shoes, uniforms, outerwear, and/or gear
  • cleaned up messes after preparing meals and snacks, keep kitchen, eating area, child’s bedroom, and playroom tidy between deep cleans
  • cleaned / disinfected toys and organized and rotated toys
  • safely transported child to school and activities, ran family and household errands
  • provided homework help
  • packed and unpacked child for travel, traveled internationally with family, provided extended solo care of child while parents traveled
  • maintained household inventory
  • provided party preparation
  • managed family members calendars
  • coordinated and supervised vendors
  • managed estate sales
  • provided daily dog care  and et coordination and supervision

Children
ages and special needs
Both boys have special needs.  One is on the autism spectrum and one has a language delay.

My Responsibilities
I am responsible for all hands-on care and the whole child development of the twins including developing a home-based forest education program, planning and engaging them in child-inspired school-readiness activities, and working closely with their individual therapists (ABA and speech) and implementing therapy plans at home.  I am the liaison between the parents and therapists, making sure everyone stays updated on the boys’ therapy plans.

A Sampling of My Accomplishments from this Position
The parents and I have accomplished a lot working together. 

I’m particularly proud that I was able to do the majority of the potty training of both boys in under 2 weeks even though each was reluctant and had their challenges. 

I’ve also helped them come out of their shell and learn the social skills needed to make new friends and feel confident in groups. 

The parents and I have developed a great working relationship and I’ve supported them as they tackled the boys’ diagnoses.  They’ve often said how much they appreciate the observations journal I keep to help everyone stay on the same page around the boys’ therapies, progress, and challenges.

Why I’m Leaving the Position

Click to View Reference Letter from this Position

Testimonials

A Few Interview FAQs

I’m passionate about creating a safe space where kids feel loved, secure, and accepted for who they are.  Where they can learn the skills of high emotional intelligence and connected communication.  Where curiosity, kindness, belief in yourself, and respect for others are valued and nurtured.  I believe when kids don’t follow rules or they blow past limits, it’s because they’re trying to get their needs met in inappropriate and ineffective ways. I believe my job is to help them figure out what those needs are, learn how to process and manage the big emotions that come with them, and then do things differently in the future or in other words, “make good choices”.  So my discipline approach is really the same as my big picture approach.  Challenging behaviors are just another learning opportunity.

Strengths

Skills

Qualifications Summary

  • Bachelor’s Degree in Education
  • teaching experience
  • 10 plus years in two positions
  • experienced with frequent, extended domestic and international travel
  • current passport and Global Entry
  • experienced driving in city environment
  • experienced with HP and HNW families in a staffed household
  • comfortable and experienced working solo and as part of a team with an at-home parent
  • extensive experience with multiples, toddlers, preschoolers, elementary, middle, and high school kids
  • love dogs, big and small
  • strong swimmer
  • experience driving in city environment
  • expert in Menlo Park including kid classes, playgrounds, and other activities
  • comfortable working with extended family
  • Newborn Care Specialist and Early Childhood Education training
  • experienced in Positive Discipline and Respectful Parenting approach
  • car available to use for work
  • current COVID vaccinated and boosted, current Tb and Tdap vaccine

The Position I'm Looking For

LOCATION: Menlo Park, CA area (see map below for detailed search area)

TYPE OF POSITION: full-time, live-in or live-out nanny or family assistant role in a traditional, ROTA, overnight, or travel position

DATE AVAILABLE: August 2024

PREFERRED SCHEDULE: 40 to 60, open to days of week and hours

HOURLY WAGE: $45 to $70 gross per hour

BENEFITS REQUIRED: guaranteed hours, 2 weeks paid vacation, paid holidays, paid sick days, paid inclement weather days, health insurance contribution (a tax-free benefit for both of us), retirement contribution, IRS mileage reimbursement if using my own car

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS: rent stipend for live-out position

If you think we might be a good match, please contact me. If I’m not right for your family but I might be right for a friend, please share my profile.

To connect, please email me at serenashinault@gmail.com or call or text 650-714-1289. 

Location Wanted

I’m looking for a family that lives within 20 miles of Stone Pine Ln and El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA  (Exact address is withheld for privacy purposes.)   Click on the “get directions” link and enter your address to see your distance.-