Welcome!

I’m Susan Malone from Petaluma, CA.
I’m looking for a live-out part-time nanny position, I’m comfortable caring for up to 2 children, and I’m flexible on my start date.

Location Wanted

I’m looking for a family that lives within 10 miles of Payran and Petaluma Blvd South in Petaluma, CA.  (Exact address is withheld for privacy purposes.)   Click on the “get directions” link and enter your address to see your distance.

Childcare Experience Summary

  • 10 + years of babysitting experience with preemies to 14 years old
  • 16 years of part-time nanny experience
  • 2 years of providing respite care for toddlers and preschoolers
  • elementary school teacher for pre-K to middle school
  • more than 5 years experience with each of the following age groups: newborns, infants, toddlers, preschoolers, and young school age children 
  • experience with share care kids within 1 year of each other in age, dietary restrictions, Down’s Syndrome, Autism spectrum disorder, sensory processing disorder or sensitivities, a child in a wheelchair due to Spinal Muscular Atrophy

Click to view resume detailing my full childcare employment history.

Here are the tasks I’ve successfully completed in previous jobs and am happy to do for your family.

  • keeping daily food log
  • healthy meal planning
  • meal preparation
  • making homemade baby food
  • cleaning / sterilizing all bottle related gear
  • laundry: clothes, towels, bedding
  • organizing and rotating clothes
  • travel packing and unpacking
  • shopping for clothes, shoes, uniforms, outerwear, and/or gear
  • clean up mess after preparing meals and snacks
  • keep kitchen and eating area tidy between deep cleans
  • keep child’s bedroom and playroom tidy between deep cleans
  • cleaning / disinfecting toys
  • organizing and rotating toys
  • transportation
  • keeping daily log

Testimonials

A Few Interview FAQs

I am a very nurturing, caring, and sensitive person. I tend to have a dry sense of humor and like to make funny remarks sometimes. I am an introvert who is comfortable with being around people and in social situations.

I love to read novels and mysteries. I like to make needle felted creations like ornaments and dolls.  I like to snuggle my cat and take walks and spend time visiting with my daughter. I’m enjoying spending time with my new granddaughter.

It is both gentle and respectful. I believe babies and children are whole people deserving of respectful treatment and care. 

When we change the environment a child is exposed to, their behavior will often change. Creating a “yes space” for infants and toddlers is really important so that they have the freedom and opportunity to explore and learn from their environment safely. Timing activities so that the child is well rested and not hungry can eliminate a lot of struggles. Having a predictable routine so that they know what to expect also helps eliminate struggles and conflict. Changing how we make requests and give instructions also helps. We need to make sure our requests and instructions are simple enough and that the child is old enough and has the skills to follow them. Children naturally want to please their caregivers, and we need to set children up for success. Modeling good, respectful behavior also helps. Focusing more on their positive behavior than on the challenging aspects of it is also important.

Respectful, kind behavior and not hurting others are key.

First I focus on connecting with the child and helping them calm down. Then I focus on teaching them how to handle it differently. If it’s a safety limit, I remove them from the situation first, then I focus on addressing the behavior. Safety issues are one instance that warrants the use of the word “no.”

I help them identify, name, and express their emotions. I teach that all feelings are valid and real. I let them know that I can handle their emotions and will support them when they are struggling.  I acknowledge and validate their feelings in order to  help them process their emotions and explore new ways to act and react. When they feel heard and understood children can release the feelings and  let go and move on.  I also work on co-regulation and helping them find their calm.

 I use predictable routines and rhythms to the day.  This lets the child know what to expect and increases their feelings of security and tends to increase cooperation. 

I also use “time in” which utilizes co regulation and acknowledgement of their feelings.

 I don’t use spanking or time-outs. I don’t use punishment or belittling or shaming.

What you’d notice most is that even with a baby I talk and communicate throughout the day as I narrate what we’re doing and seeing.  This helps them understand what’s going on in their environment and encourages language development. 

I love to take babies, toddlers, and preschoolers on walks and to spend time in nature.  It’s not only fun, it helps stimulate their brains and promotes mental and physical well being. Children learn to love and appreciate nature and spending time outdoors through our walks. Time in nature allows for them to feel interconnected and encourages them to explore. Our daily walks are part of a routine, and children learn to know what to expect. Children feel more confident and secure when they have a daily routine and predictable rhythms to the day.

I don’t use screen time as I prefer to have the children interact with me and with their environment and to explore their world. 

One of my favorite things to do is to read to children and babies. This fosters togetherness, brain and language development, imagination, attention span, and a lifelong love of reading. Being read to helps develop empathy and helps children learn to describe feelings and thoughts.

I foster child led play and child led learning because these allow for strong, trusting relationships.  The child decides what they want to do and how they want to do it, and I find the teachable moments within that framework to incorporate learning.   These styles of play and learning allow the child to feel comfortable learning, and children learn best when they are interested in what they are doing. Everyday experiences are learning opportunities and life and daily activities provide their own curriculum. Opportunities to work on both fine and gross motor skills abound on our daily walks. Putting away toys, washing hands, and making lunch provide opportunities for counting and language development. 

I work best with a family that models respect for each other and respects me and my experience and education. I work well with new parents, and we learn from each other and together. I like to work with parents who practice gentle, respectful parenting and aren’t permissive. I work well with parents who prioritize safety and who provide a safe and engaging environment for their baby or toddler to play and learn in. A childproofed home allows a child to safely explore their environment without being distracted by constant redirection away from dangerous items.

Certifications / Trainings / Education

Trustline Registered August 1990 – Current
National Domestic Workers Association (NDWA) – member Current
International Nanny Association (INA) – member Current
CPR/First Aid Certified January 2023 (Renewal January 2024)
Sleepwonders: The First 14 Weeks December 2022
Sleepwonders: Daytime Sleep from Birth to Two November 2022
Respectful Care for Newborns, Infants, & Toddlers April 2019
Lifeways Learning from Conflict Training March 2019
INA Credentialed Nanny October 2018
The Newborn Care Training Academy Graduate March 2018
IES Spanish Language Instruction Workshops 2014 – 2015
Waldorf Education Workshops at Rudolf Steiner College 2003 – 2004
Child Care Initiative Project Mentor Program 2003
Program for Infant Toddler Caregivers Training 2002 – 2003
Positive Discipline Training 2001
The California Childcare Initiative Project Graduate 2001
Fort Worth Independent School District Fort Worth, TX 1997
Gifted and Talented Certificate
Texas Woman’s University Denton, TX 1996
Reading Recovery Certification, Bilingual
Texas Woman’s University Denton, TX 1994
Texas Teacher Certification, Bilingual/ESL (Pre K – 8)
CSU Hayward (Cal State East Bay) Hayward/Concord, CA 1993
B.A. Liberal Studies Credential Track (Education), Theater Emphasis

Skills and Values I Bring to My Job

Child-Related Skills

  • Good written and verbal communication
  • Creative thinking and problem solving
  • Good decision making
  • Compassion and empathy
  • Good time management

Soft Skills and Traits

  • Empathy
  • Responsiveness
  • Listening
  • Time Management
  • Willingness to learn
  • Integrity
  • Self Motivation
  • Attention to detail
  • Initiative
  • Positivity
  • Manners
  • Helpfulness
  • Professionalism

Core Values

  • Affection
  • Respect
  • Patience
  • Kindness
  • Calmness
  • Sensitivity
  • Empathy
  • Cooperation
  • Understanding
  • Welcoming
  • Playfulness
  • Attentive

Summary of Qualifications

  • current COVID vaccinated and boosted
  • current Tb and Tdap vaccine
  • car available to use for work
  • experience driving in city environment
  • expert in local area including kid classes, playgrounds, and other activities
  • love cats
  • experienced with frequent and/or extended travel
  • current passport and love to travel!!
  • 5 plus years in one position
  • open to long-term position
  • comfortable and experienced working successfully with at-home parent
  • comfortable working as part of a team with an at-home parent
  • comfortable working with extended family
  • extensive experience with infants, toddlers, preschoolers, and elementary school age children
  • experience working with a child with special needs
  • CPR / First Aid certified
  • Newborn Care Specialist training
  • Waldorf training
  • RIE training
  • Bachelor’s degree
  • extensive professional development training
  • experienced in Respectful Parenting approach

The Position I'm Looking For

LOCATION: Petaluma, CA (see map above for detailed search area)

TYPE OF POSITION: part-time live-out nanny

DATE AVAILABLE: flexible 

PREFERRED SCHEDULE: 24 hours a week, flexible on exact schedule

HOURLY WAGE: $30 to $35 gross per hour

BENEFITS REQUIRED: guaranteed hours, 2 weeks paid vacation, paid holidays, paid sick days, paid inclement weather days, mileage reimbursement if my car is required for work use

Do you think we might be a good match?

If yes, please text me at 707-775-8025 or email me at 11Susanmalone@gmail.com and include your job description, hours and days needed, and the best way to contact you.

If I’m not right for your family but I might be right for a friend, please share my profile.